Board of Visitors

The National Intelligence University Board of Visitors is an advisory board composed of individuals with a broad spectrum of military, intelligence, and academic experience, enabling them to provide unique perspectives in all facets of college operations. The Board of Visitors provides independent advice to the Director of National Intelligence and Secretary of Defense, through the Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence, and the Director, Defense Intelligence Agency, on matters related to the mission, policy accreditation, faculty, students, facilities, curricula, educational methods, research and administration of the NIU. The Board meets twice each year.


Maureen A. Baginski
Former Executive Assistant Director for Intelligence, Federal Bureau of Investigation


Thad W. Allen, ADM, USCG (Ret.)
Executive Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton and the Twenty-Third Commandant of the United States Coast Guard

Arden L. Bement Jr., Ph.D.
Former Director, National Science Foundation and Former Director, National Institute of Standards and Technology

John C. Gannon, Captain, USN (Ret.), Ph.D.
Former Chairman, National Intelligence Council and Former Deputy Director for Intelligence, Central Intelligence Agency, Adjunct Professor, Georgetown University

Joanne O’Rourke Isham
Founding Partner, Isham Associates, LLC

Harvey Rishikof, J.D.
Co-chair American Bar Association (ABA) Cybersecurity Legal Task Force and Chair, Advisory Committee, ABA Standing Committee on Law and National Security

Ex-Officio Members

Deborah Kircher
Assistant Director of National Intelligence for Human Capital and Chief Human Capital Officer for the Intelligence Community, Office of the Director of National Intelligence